Visa-free travel for Vanuatu citizens

Vanuatu citizens can travel to 96 countries visa-free

Visa required

Visa-free travel for Vanuatu citizens

Vanuatu citizenship provides freedom of travel to its holder, allowing free entry to 96 countries. These include the UK, Israel and Sri Lanka.

The list of visa-free destinations can change over time — new requirements for entry into a country may arise due to the political situation. For instance, in 2022, all the Schengen countries suspended the visa waiver regime with Vanuatu. 

Immigrant Invest recommends checking the requirements for each country on its consulate’s website before travelling. 

List of visa-free countries with a Vanuatu passport

1 Andorra Visa-free
2 Belarus Visa-free
3 Bosnia and Herzegovina Visa-free
4 Gibraltar Visa-free
5 Kosovo Visa-free
6 Moldova Visa-free
7 Monaco Visa-free
8 Montenegro Visa-free
9 Russian Federation Visa-free
10 San Marino Visa-free
11 United Kingdom Visa-free
12 Ireland Visa-free
13 Armenia  Visa on arrival
14 Bangladesh  Visa on arrival
15 Cambodia  Visa on arrival
16 Hong Kong (SAR China) Visa-free
17 Indonesia Visa-free
18 Iran  Visa on arrival
19 Israel Visa-free
20 Jordan  Visa on arrival
21 Laos  Visa on arrival
22 Macao (SAR China)  Visa on arrival
23 Malaysia Visa-free
24 Maldives  Visa on arrival
25 Nepal  Visa on arrival
26 Palestinian Territory Visa-free
27 Philippines Visa-free
28 Singapore Visa-free
29 Sri Lanka eTA
30 Thailand  Visa on arrival
31 Timor-Leste  Visa on arrival
32 Bermuda Visa-free
33 Bolivia  Visa on arrival
34 Costa Rica Visa-free
35 Ecuador Visa-free
36 El Salvador Visa-free
37 Guatemala Visa-free
38 Honduras Visa-free
39 Nicaragua Visa-free
40 Panama Visa-free
41 Peru Visa-free
42 Anguilla Visa-free
43 Antigua and Barbuda Visa-free
44 Bahamas Visa-free
45 Barbados Visa-free
46 British Virgin Islands Visa-free
47 Cayman Islands Visa-free
48 Dominica Visa-free
49 Dominican Republic Visa-free
50 Grenada Visa-free
51 Haiti Visa-free
52 Jamaica Visa-free
53 Montserrat Visa-free
54 St. Kitts and Nevis Visa-free
55 St. Lucia Visa-free
56 St. Vincent and the Grenadines Visa-free
57 Trinidad and Tobago Visa-free
58 Botswana Visa-free
59 Burundi  Visa on arrival
60 Cape Verde Islands  Visa on arrival
61 Comores Islands  Visa on arrival
62 Egypt  Visa on arrival
63 Eswatini (Swaziland) Visa-free
64 Gambia Visa-free
65 Guinea-Bissau  Visa on arrival
66 Kenya Visa-free
67 Lesotho Visa-free
68 Madagascar  Visa on arrival
69 Malawi  Visa on arrival
70 Mauritania  Visa on arrival
71 Mauritius Visa-free
72 Mozambique  Visa on arrival
73 Rwanda  Visa on arrival
74 Senegal Visa on arrival
75 Seychelles  Visa on arrival
76 Sierra Leone  Visa on arrival
77 Somalia  Visa on arrival
78 St. Helena  Visa on arrival
79 Tanzania Visa-free
80 Togo  Visa on arrival
81 Uganda Visa-free
82 Zambia Visa-free
83 Zimbabwe Visa-free
84 Cook Islands Visa-free
85 Fiji Visa-free
86 Kiribati Visa-free
87 Marshall Islands  Visa on arrival
88 Micronesia Visa-free
89 Nauru  Visa on arrival
90 Niue Visa-free
91 Palau Islands  Visa on arrival
92 Papua New Guinea  Visa on arrival
93 Samoa  Visa on arrival
94 Solomon Islands  Visa on arrival
95 Tonga  Visa on arrival
96 Tuvalu  Visa on arrival

Popular travel destinations with a Vanuatu passport 

Visa-free entry allows visiting a country as a tourist. It implies a limited stay and does not allow working or studying in the country.   

The UK. As a former territory of Great Britain and now a member of the Commonwealth, Vanuatu maintains a visa-free regime with the United Kingdom. Vanuatu passport holders can travel visa-free to the UK for up to 180 days with no other limitations. 

Visa-free entry is allowed only for tourism. For employment, studies or marriage, a special visa is required.

180 days
Visa-free stay in the UK

Hong Kong and Singapore. Vanuatu citizens can stay in Hong Kong without visas for up to 90 days and up to 30 days in Singapore. 

Australia. Vanuatu citizens need to obtain a visa for Australia, valid for up to 12 months. The acquisition process usually takes 1—2 weeks.

The Schengen Area. Vanuatu citizens need to obtain a visa to travel to the Schengen states.

A tourist visa allows staying in the area for up to 90 days every half a year. The limit applies to the whole area rather than individual countries, meaning one cannot spend 90 days in Portugal and then go to Spain. Travellers must fit all their desired destinations within the Schengen Area within the 90-day limit. 

90 days every 6 months
Time to spend in the Schengen Area with a tourist visa

The USA. Vanuatu citizens cannot visit the USA without a visa. However, they can obtain a 5-year visitor visa. 

The B-1/B-2 visa allows its holder to travel to the USA for tourism and business purposes. They can visit their family and friends, attend business meetings or speak at conferences. However, this type of visa does not allow studying or working permanently in the country. 

Vanuatu passport renewal

Vanuatu passports are valid for 10 years. To enjoy the freedom of travel with it, the passport has to be renewed on time — and for that, one does not have to go to Vanuatu. 

The renewal can be done remotely with the help of any Vanuatu consulate or Immigrant Invest.

How to obtain Vanuatu citizenship

One of the easiest and fastest ways to obtain a Vanuatu passport is to join the citizenship by investment program

The minimal investment is $130,000; the total amount depends on the number of family members included in the application. 

Usually, one can acquire Vanuatu citizenship under this program in 2+ months.  

Frequently asked questions

Is the Vanuatu passport powerful?

A Vanuatu passport enables its holder to enter 96 countries visa-free. This makes it the 49th strongest passport in the world. 

Where can you go with a Vanuatu passport?

Vanuatu citizens can enter 96 countries visa-free, including the UK, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Sri Lanka. 

Do Vanuatu passport holders need a visa to the US?

Yes, Vanuatu citizens do need a visa to the USA. They can obtain a 5-year visitor visa. 

Does a Vanuatu citizen need a visa to Europe?

A Vanuatu passport holder can enter some European countries visa-free. For example, they can freely travel to Andorra, Montenegro, and Moldova. 

Regarding the Schengen states, like Germany or France, Vanuatu citizens need a tourist visa. It allows staying in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days every 6 months.   

Schedule a meeting

Let’s discuss the details

Schedule a meeting at one of the offices or online. A lawyer will analyze the situation, calculate the cost and help you find a solution based on your goals.

Zlata Erlach
Caribbean Investment Program Expert
Schedule a meeting
Prefer messengers? WhatsApp Telegram
Scroll to Top